All law enforcement has the right to stop Virginia drivers when probable cause exists. This includes suspicion of DUI and witnessing a moving violation. During these routine traffic stops, the driver must provide valid proof of automobile insurance. Any driver who is found non-compliant with these laws receives a Driving without Insurance Ticket in Virginia immediately.
Virginia Insurance Law
According to Virginia's insurance laws, all drivers must possess no less than liability auto insurance. The coverage equates to $25,000 for each injury with a maximum of $50,000 as well as $20,000 for property damage. Alternately, the driver could acquire a surety bond through the Department of Motor Vehicles.
When You Acquire a Ticket
Drivers who possess valid automobile insurance and were unable to provide immediate proof could fax or mail a copy of their insurance card to the identified law enforcement agency. Drivers who don't have insurance are required to pay a fee for noncompliance with insurance laws. The fee is $500. In addition, they pay to reactivate their license plates and to re-establish their vehicle registration.
Before the driver acquires any reinstatement, they are required to provide valid proof of auto insurance. In most cases, they are required to purchase SR-22 insurance as they are considered a risky driver. The certification for the insurance purchase is filed with the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Avoiding Penalties and Fees
The DMV issues notification to the vehicle owner whenever their insurance policy is canceled. Any lapse in coverage is reported to the driver to give them ample time to present new proof to the department. If the vehicle owner fails to provide new proof of automobile insurance, the DMV cancels the tag registration and tag. To avoid these possibilities you should ensure that the department has a current copy of your insurance information.
Driving without insurance is a serious traffic violation. It could result in the suspension of your driver's license if you have more than one conviction. In most cases, you're required to buy SR-22 insurance to fulfill your financial obligation. To fight against these penalties, you should contact a Traffic Violation Lawyer now.